Greater Manchester Clinical Research Awards finalists revealed in record year for nominations

The finalists for the 2017 Greater Manchester Clinical Research Awards have been revealed following an unprecedented number of entries.

Almost 160 nominations were received this year – the highest number in the five years since the inaugural awards were launched in 2013. Among the finalists are 10 individuals and teams from across our hospital campus. 

In addition to the volume, the judges were also struck by the extremely high quality of the nominations submitted across the 10 categories. The panel hugely impressed by the levels of excellence and dedication being applied to clinical research across the region.

The judges have now confirmed the finalists, but wished to stress their task had been harder than ever.

Debbie Vinsun, CRN GM Chief Operating Officer, said: “I would like to sincerely thank our partner organisations across Greater Manchester for once again showing such great enthusiasm for the Greater Manchester Clinical Research Awards.

“The continued level of engagement has been reflected in a record number of nominations which presented the panel with our most difficult judging process to date.

“With such high quality competition, the criteria to make the final shortlist was very demanding and each of the individuals and teams who have been selected truly have excelled.

“I would like to congratulate you all on this excellent achievement and also applaud the brilliant efforts of all our nominees.

“I look forward to welcoming our finalists and guests to the ceremony which promises to be a fantastic evening and an opportunity to toast all the superb work taking place across our network.”

The finalists from across the hospital campus are:

Investigator of the Year

  • Ed Johnstone – Consultant Obstetrician/Senior Lecturer in Obstetrics and Fetal Medicine, Saint Mary’s Hospital
  • Gabriel Schembri – Consultant in Sexual Health and HIV medicine, Manchester Royal Infirmary

Outstanding Contribution

  • Public Programmes Team

Research Nurse/Midwife of the Year

  • Richard Clark – Senior Clinical Research Nurse, Emergency & Intensive Care Research Group, Manchester Royal Infirmary
  • Mona Fareh – Senior Clinical Research Nurse, Surgery, Manchester Royal Infirmary

Research Administrator/Co-ordinator of the Year

  • Gemma Donohoe – Clinical Trials Manager, Royal Manchester Children’s Hospital
  • Adam Unsworth – Senior Administrator, non-malignant haematology, Manchester Royal Infirmary

Clinical Studies/Research Practitioner of the Year

  • Ann McGovern – Research Practitioner, Royal Manchester Children’s Hospital

Team of the Year

  • Sexual Health Team (Hathersage Centre), Manchester Royal Infirmary

Public Engagement

  • Public Programmes Team

Another of the judges, Caroline Pickstone, Assistant Director (Digital Innovation) at NIHR Clinical Research Network Coordinating Centre, said: “Once again it was a huge privilege to be asked to review the nominations for research awards in Greater Manchester.

“In your CRN, teams routinely set their research into patient care pathways, engage patients and work in multi-disciplinary teams and are creative problem solvers addressing new issues as they arise.

“Trusts are mindful of their profile and of the contribution they make to network performance.

“Meeting recruitment and delivery targets has become second nature. Investigators work hard, commit to and deliver studies drawing on skilled delivery teams and experts in set-up and study selection. 

“Against this backdrop, those who we shortlisted had to sparkle; going the extra mile, bringing innovation and addressing national challenges in ways which have the potential to scale up into other regions.

“Their solutions needed to be sustainable, visible and enhance patient experiences of being part of studies. And they did. There is work going on in GM which is in the vanguard; work which will influence other regions and should be made more visible.”

The award winners will be revealed during a black tie ceremony at the Radisson Blue Edwardian hotel on Peter Street, Manchester, on the evening of Thursday 9 November 2017.